iOS 4.2.1: Update For iPhone Jailbreakers And Unlockers From Dev Team

Comments

• TY
    TY Posts: 41
    via Wordpress

Will do. Thanks! Which jailbreak should I use? I believe it's two out right now. I'm just learning about all of this so thanks for your help.

• TY
    TY Posts: 41
    via Wordpress

I know I can't unlock my phone right now. I was just asking whether I should jailbreak and wait on the unlock, or should I jailbreak it once the unlock is out.

• iP3g
    iP3g Posts: 3
    via Wordpress

iOS 4.2.1 update for iPhone 3G is useless. None of the updates work!

• JT
    JT Posts: 60
    via Wordpress

I sure do hope so.. Im most def gonna
    try it...

• Ed
    Ed Posts: 110
    via Wordpress

What about if you already have a jailbroken iPhone 3GS using GreenpoisOn? Would you have to jailbreak your phone again once updated to iOS 4.2.1 with new jailbreaking tools? Or will GreenpoisOn still work? Any advice or information will be greatly appreciated, Thanks, Ed

• iPhoneDev
    iPhoneDev Posts: 7
    via Wordpress

Once a device has been jail broken with the ability to install new software, why not use iTunes to backup a means of jail breaking again after an iOS change?

Simple solution: write an app that takes any existing app from the AppStore large enough to be a "wrapper" for the Cydia app and places the Cydia executable inside of it. The app would appear to be normal (even the checksum can be fudged) and would be backed up by iTunes. Running that app would just run Cydia. Afterall, we are just looking for a means to copy new apps to the phone.

This is how we use to do things with other platforms, what am I missing here?

• Microsoft fan boy
    via Wordpress

Not that I'm an expert at this or anything but I think there's a tad bit more involved in jailbreaking than just getting Cydia installed...

• Jon
    Jon Posts: 116
    via Wordpress